Best Safety ratings for cars

June 13, 2024
Choosing the best vehicle for

(American Honda Motor Co., Inc)One of the top requirements for people who shop for a new car has everything to do with safety. And not just seat belts, air bags and anti-lock brakes — today’s consumers want features that mitigate crashes, reduce injuries and save lives. To that end, both the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) provide safety ratings for most passenger vehicles. We’ll take a look at each entity and the 2015 cars with the best safety ratings.

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA has been conducting crashworthiness testing longer than anyone else in the United States. In 1978, NHTSA’s New Car Assessment Program (NCAP) initiated its 5-Star Safety Ratings Program in an effort to assist consumers with information about crash protection and rollover safety for new vehicles.

The NCAP program goes beyond the minimum safety requirements required by federal law. Initially, the program covered frontal crashes only. In 1997, side crash testing was added, followed by rollover assessments beginning with the 2001 model year. Vehicles are scored on a scale of one to five stars, with one being the lowest score and five representing the highest score.

Beginning in 2011, the 5-Star Safety Rating program was modified and enhanced. The latest program uses different size crash dummies, incorporates side pole testing and collects more crash testing data. Separately, the program also acknowledges advanced technologies included in many vehicles, such as electronic stability control, lane departure warning and forward collision alert.

Insurance Institute for Highway Safety

The IIHS is a nonprofit organization that also conducts crash tests for most new vehicles. The IIHS, along with the companion Highway Loss Data Institute, are backed by insurance companies and insurance associations. The results of IIHS testing will have an effect on your auto insurance premiums.

Formed in 1959, the IIHS has long advocated for more stringent safety requirements for passenger vehicles. In 1995, the institute began to crash test vehicles rating them for frontal crashworthiness and for rear-end collisions. In 2003, side impact tests were launched and in 2005, the institute began awarding the top performing vehicles with a Top Safety Pick award in a bid to help consumers recognize the best of the best.


Zero-star safety ratings for Indian cars -
Zero-star safety ratings for Indian cars -
Used car safety ratings highlight best buys - and the ones
Used car safety ratings highlight best buys - and the ones ...
Share this Post