Illinois licenses cost $30.
Do my parents have to bring me for my permit test in Illinois?
If you are under age 18, it is best for your parents to bring you.
What will I need to know in order to pass my Illinois knowledge test?Passing the Illinois permit test is as easy as knowing the rules of the road. You will need to know:
- Shape, color and symbol of traffic signs
- Signals and pavement markings
- Traffic laws, safety rules, crash prevention and vehicle equipment
How many questions are there on the Illinois written test?
There are 35 questions on the Illinois written test.
What is the passing score for the Illinois permit test?
You must score at least 28 out of 35 questions correctly.
How many questions can I miss on the Illinois knowledge test?
You aren’t allowed to miss more than 7 questions.
What common errors should I avoid when taking the Illinois permit test?
The first error people make is not studying. The second error people make is on the True and False questions.
May I use the Illinois driver’s book when I take the actual permit test?
No. You may not use the manual. That’s considered cheating.
Do I get a drug test when applying for an Illinois license?
No, a drug test is not necessary when getting a driver’s license in Illinois.
Which DMV office is the easiest when taking the Illinois knowledge test?
Where can I see some feedback from people who have already passed their Illinois test?
Visit one of the permit practice tests above and scroll down to see the Facebook comments section – those were left by people who have already passed the DMV test or are still getting ready for it. Good luck!
What happens if I fail my Illinois written test?
If you fail your permit test, you may take it again as early as you’d like. You will be given 3 attempts in a one year period to pass.
When is the next time I can take my Illinois written test if I fail?
You may take it again the next day.
Can I drive anywhere in Illinois with a learner’s permit?
Sure, in fact you are encouraged to drive in various conditions and situations. Always be sure to have a licensed driver age 21 or older with you.
What happens after I pass my permit test in Illinois?
After you get your permit, you may go ahead and apply for your driver’s license if you are over the age of 18. If you are under 18, here are the next steps you should take
Step 1: Hold your permit at least 9 months
Step 2: Finish your driver’s education course